Faculty Affairs Home LEAP New Faculty Orientation

New Faculty Orientation

When Aug 19, 2013
from 07:30 AM to 05:00 PM
Where ATLAS 100
Contact Name
Contact Phone 303 492-4603
Add event to calendar vCal

August 19, 2013                  
ATLAS Auditorium

7:30 – 8:00    Registration, Coffee, and Bagels

8:00 – 8:15    Welcome, Introductions

8:15 – 8:30    Chancellor Phil DiStefano’s Welcome

8:30 – 8:35    Introduction to Program Materials

8:35 – 9:15    Faculty Programs & Services I

Faculty Teaching Excellence Program - Mary Ann Shea, Director
Brian Argrow, President’s Teaching Scholar and Professor, Aerospace Engineering Sciences
Penny Axelrad, Professor, Aerospace Engineering Sciences
Amma Ghartey-Tagoe Kootin, Assistant Professor, Theatre and Dance
Graduate Teacher Program (GTP) – Laura Border, Director
CU Bookstore – Jason Katzman, Assistant Director for Academic Resources

9:15 – 9:30       Break

9:30 – 10:10     Faculty Affairs Services

Leadership Education for Advancement and Promotion (LEAP) – Martha Hanna, Director
Faculty Relations – John Frazee, Director of Faculty Relations
Ombuds Office – Emily Calhoun, Professor of Law, and Lee Potts, Professor Emerita
Faculty Evaluations and Tenure Clock Issues – Jeff Cox, Associate Vice Chancellor for Faculty Affairs
Faculty Housing Assistance Program – Jeff Cox

10:10 – 10:15    SelectPlus – Megan Bohn, Office of Human Resources

10:15 – 10:30    Break

10:30 – 11:45    Faculty Programs & Services II

University Libraries Programs & Services – Jennifer Knievel, Assoc. Professor, Faculty Director of Humanities
Office of Information Technology – Larry Levine, AVC and CIO, Office of Information Technology
Honor Code Council – Megan Petersen, Director of Faculty Relations
Office of Disability Services – John Meister, Interim Director
Counseling and Psychological Services – Karen Raforth, Director
Disruptive Student Policy – Robert Axmacher, Commander, CU Police
Students of Concern Process – Hans W. F. Foote, Students of Concern Case Manager

11:45 – 12:00    Advice for the First Years
Nicholas Flores, Professor and Chair, Economics
Janice Ho, Assistant Professor, English
Pieter Johnson, Associate Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

12:00 – 1:00    Lunch and Faculty Services Fair (ATLAS Lobby and Upstairs Lounge)

1:00 – 2:30    Discrimination and Harassment Awareness Training

Llen Pomeroy, Manager, Office of Discrimination and Harassment

2:35 – 3:15        Faculty Programs & Services III

Graduate School Programs for Faculty – John Stevenson, Dean of the Graduate School
Office of Contracts and Grants – Tricia Rankin, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Technology Transfer Office – MaryBeth Vellequette, Director UCB/UCCS
Research Integrity – Claire Dunne, IRB Director & Assoc. Director, Office of Research Integrity

3:15 – 5:00    Employee Services

Lisa Affleck, Payroll Administration
Anne Marcovecchio, Benefits Administration

User-agent: * Disallow: /vcac2013/
Personal tools